A Song of Ice and Fire



When a book is turned into a movie or a book series turned into a film series/television series I love comparing the two. My most recent comparison is the A Song of Ice and Fire series. For those of you who don’t know, this series is more commonly referred to as A Game of Thrones, because that is the title of the first book in the series and is the name of the television show. 

Recently I reread A Game of Thrones after having watched the first season of the television show because I wanted to see how accurate it was. I must say I was rather impressed. Certain parts are taken word for word out of the text and I could hear the character saying the lines as I was reading them. All of the major components of the book are shown in the show with just some minor adjustments being made but nothing to the overall plot. The one thing I noticed was the changing of character names. A few of the characters have the same first names, ie Robert Baratheon and Robert Arryn. However in the show they changed the name of Robery Arryn to Robin. It’s small but bothersome to me because that was the custom, to have namesakes. 

Otherwise, the first season to the first book is very well done. I enjoy the people they cast into the roles, even though they’re older than I thought they would be but that was understandable with the content of the books. I think the acting is phenomenal. I’m looking forward to rewatching the second season and rereading the second book A Clash of Kings. And I’m impatiently waiting for the next book in the series, The Winds of Winter, to be released seeing as it’s going on four years since the release of the last book. It is rumored that we will have another year to wait before the release of the next book. 

(Also, A Game of Thrones was book 13 of my book challenge) 

Leave a Reply

