Book Review: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs 

 

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs  

Fantasy; 396 pages

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS!!! IF YOU HAVENT READ MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN STOP READING NOW!!!

Summary: Hollow City picks up right where the last story left off. The peculiar a are fleeing from an army of wights and Miss. Peregrine is trapped in her bird form. They were forced to leave the island after their loop slipped. They set off for the mainland with the hopes of escaping the wights and finding a new loop that will assist them. Eventually they find a loop of peculiar animals but instead of being able to help they give the children bad news. If they don’t find a ymbryne to help change Miss. Peregrine back to a human, and soon, she will forget who she was and remain a bird for the rest of her life. But all the ymbrynes are being kidnapped and taken to London, so that is where they must go. 

Review: I think I enjoyed this book a little more that the first one. There was a lot more action and it was a more exciting story than the first book. However, I couldn’t give it five stars because I didn’t like that I had to keep reminding myself that the peculiars  were, in fact, children. The whole first book they acted so mature and then they completely fell apart at times in this book. They acted like the children they tried so hard not to be and I didn’t like that. Otherwise, I was quite happy with this book as a whole and I’m really looking forward to the third book coming out this September! 

Recommendation: if you read the first, go read it; if you didn’t, you shouldn’t be reading this post to begin with but should then go and read the first book. 

Next up: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon; you’ll have to give me some time for this one because it’s over 800 pages 


2 thoughts on “Book Review: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs 

  1. I really loved this series so far and flew through the books within a few days. I’m so excited for the next.

    Outlander is a little intimidating with how many pages! I need to psych myself up for it, lol! I can’t wait to read it though. I’ve heard so many good things about the series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

