Book Review: Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

 
Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

Conspiracy/thriller; 372 pages 

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 (3.5)

Summary: Susan Fletcher is the head of he NSA’s cryptology department. She is one of the minds responsible for the creation of the most top of the line code breaking computer. There is no code, no encryption this computer cannot break. Until there is… and they don’t know how this encryption could have been created. 

David Becker is a professor of languages and is engaged to the brilliant cryptographer, Susan Fletcher. One day he gets a call from Susan’s boss at the NSA. He needs David to pick up the personal effects of a deceased man in Spain. His only instruction, leave nothing behind. Except there’s a problem, the deceasd is missing his ring and David can’t leave without it. 

Review: There was a lot of technical talk in this book about computers. I suck with technology so I thought I was a little in over my head with it. Luckily I wasn’t once it got to the heart of the story. It was a typical Dan Brown book. Action packed, technical talk, and a bit of conspiracy theory. I don’t think it was as good as his Robert Langdon books but that’s just my opinion. 

Recommendation: If you’re looking for something different to read, I’d give it a shot. If you’re into computers you might enjoy this book too. 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

      1. I actually proud of myself for getting this one since I never usually do. I think it has something to do with my small amount of knowledge about chemistry and isotopes, so I worked out it was number 3. So cool!

        Like

      2. I’m so bad at science and computers hate me so I had to read so carefully and pay attention to every detail and I still could barely figure it out. I did get the 3 eventually like a page before they said it lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

