READATHON update and Book Review: Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon 

So my readaton started this past Friday! I haven’t posted an update yet so here’s my first official one! 

Since Friday I have finished reading both All the Bright Places and Dragonfly in Amber. So I have read a grand total of 417 pages! I’m not done yet today and the readathon extends through Sunday!! 

Is anyone else participating? How’s your progress going? 

Note: everything after this may contain spoiler for Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. If you have not read it I do not recommend reading further. 

 
Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

Syfy/fantasy; 947 pages 

Rating 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Summary: The year is 1968. Claire Randall is back in Scotland with her daughter Brianna. But there is a secret that Claire must reveal. Brianna’s father isn’t Frank Randall; her father is really Jamie Fraser, a Scottish Highlander who fought in the ’45 … that’s the Jacobite Uprising of 1745. Meanwhile, in 1744, Jamie and Claire are in France. It is quickly approaching 1745 and the uprising is looking more and more definite. Can they stop Prince Charles before he leads Scotland into ruin? 

Review: I thought this book was much better than the first book. The beginning was rather slow, I will not lie but there was so much more action and adventure. And I didn’t think Claire was quite as annoying this book as she was in the first book. The second book in the Outlander series takes you through Jamie and Claire’s life in France as they try to stop Prince Charles from leading a rebellion of Scottish Highlanders against the English crown. And when that fails, they must try to gather as many men to his cause as possible to help him win. There are a lot of new characters in this book that make it incredibly interesting to read. Once you got past the first 10 chapters or so the story really began to pick up. 

Recommendation: If you haven’t read the first book, go read it! Then read this book! 

 
Next up: A Journey into the Interior of the Earth by Jules Verne (thanks to my dad for grabbing my next title out of my tbr jar ☺️)

Leave a Reply

