Book Review: Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

 
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

338 pages; historical fiction

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Summary: Lithuania, 1941. War has broken out in Europe. Stalin is expanding Soviet territory. Lithuania has been annexed and now the Soviet police are rounding up people on their lists. Lina doesn’t know why. What could all of these people have done to be arrested? What could she have done? Torn from her home, Lina uses her talents as an artist to keep hope alive within her, enabling her to survive. 

Review: I could not put this book down. When I woke up this morning I was only 63 pages into the book and I read the rest of it today. I have read a lot of books that take place during World War II but I have never read anything about what the Soviet Union did. This book was truly eye opening for me. I had known that the Soviet Union moved into surrounding territories, annexing them as they went but I never knew what they put the inhabitant of the countries through. And perhaps my ignorance is because I am an American. They do not teach these things in our schools but I wish they did. This story was touching and beautiful. 

Recommendation: Go read it. It is an amazing book and I cannot wait to read Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. 

Next up:  

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Leave a Reply

