WWW Wednesday and Book Review for Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan 

  

Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Fantasy/mythology; 375 pages

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Summary: Percy Jackson thought he was a normal 12-year-old boy. But he is not. He is the son of the sea god Poseidon. He is a half blood. Now that Percy knows who he is he must set out to find the stolen lightning bolt of Zeus, return it to Mount Olympus, and stop a war from breaking out. 

Review: I really didn’t know much about this book going into it, even though it is so incredibly popular. I didn’t know how young the characters were or even the premiss of the book other than Percy was the son of a god. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the book. I was a little skeptical when I saw that Percy was only 12 but he was surprisingly mature about everything. I liked that so many mythical creatures were involved and I’m looking forward to reading the next book. It was fast paced, full of action and adventure and self discovery. 

Recommendation: I would recommend giving this book a try if you’re looking for something a little different. 

 

WWW Wednesday is hosted by the lovely Taking on a World of Words each week and it’s super easy because all you have to do is answer 3 simple questions. 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading? 

Asylum by Madeline Roux and it is quite freaky so far 

What did you recently finish reading? 

    Three books! Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys, Where She Went by Gayle Forman, and Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan 

What do you think you’ll read next? 

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys  

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday and Book Review for Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan 

  1. I loved The Lightning Thief and the rest of the series. Percy and the other characters definitely grow throughout the series though, so with the age thing, it does get a lot better. It also helped that Percy seemed a lot older than 12 though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Out of the Easy is on my TBR as well! Did you like her other book? Just so you know, you linked this back to my post from May 20th. I was a bit confused at first haha. Looking forward to seeing what you think of these. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m excited to get to the rest of the Percy Jackson series! I really enjoyed the first book. And Between Shades of Gray was phenomenal! I loved her second book too, Out of the Easy

      Like

Leave a Reply

