Cinder by Marissa Meyers

  
Cinder by Marissa Meyers; 387 pages

Cinder is the best mechanic in the city of New Beijing. She is also an outcast, a cyborg. 

Kai is going to be emperor soon. The Lunars are threatening war while a plague is running rampant across the globe. 

When Kai’s android breaks down in the middle of communicating an important message he seeks out Cinder for her help. It is this event that brims together an unlikely pairing, starts a budding friendship, and rocks the foundation of civilization as it was known. 

I absolutely loved this book. I loved how you could pick out the aspects of Cinderella in the story but how it was so incredibly different at the same time! Yes, I thought it was rather predictable, I saw everything coming. However, that didn’t make it a bad book. I kept reading to see how they would reveal what I guessed and it didn’t disappoint! 

If I wasn’t on a book buying ban for the net month or so I would go out and buy Scarlet tomorrow morning! Alas, it shall have to wait. 

I thought it was a very quick, easy read. It kept you engaged from the very beginning and steadily revealed new information. Like I said, I thought some of the plot was easy to guess but I liked the way Meyers took her time in revealing everything. She gave you a chance to connect to the characters before throwing the important information at you. Very well done in my opinion. 

I give it 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next up: The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

3 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyers

    1. I read it and can’t for the life of me remember it! I think I read it 6 years or so ago so that’s probably why. I read the prologue and it seems vaguely familiar but not very. All I remember is that I liked it the first time around!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

