Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige 

  
Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige; 452 pages

This is not the Oz we know. 

When Amy is swept up by a tornado and dropped into Oz, it is not the same place she has seen on TV. 

Dorothy is still in Oz. 

Glinda may not be good at all. 

And Oz? Well, it may not be that happy place from the movie anymore. 

At least not without help. 

I was really excited to read this book because I loved the concept of the story. Danielle Paige took a fantastic idea a kinda sorta butchered it. 

I thought Amy was a completely obnoxious character. There was no reason for her to become that invested in a cause that quickly. There was no need for her to have diluted feelings of love towards a person she knew for like 3 days. 

Someone answer this question for me: Why do authors feel the need to create badass female leads and then weaken them by making them seem smitten over some guy? 

If it would have gone any further it would have ruined the book for me. 

And the whole story progressed too quickly. Or there wasn’t enough information in it to show how much time had passed because it sounds like she’s in Oz for, like, a week and all of a sudden she’s devoted to helping the people of Oz and their cause is her cause. She feels invested in their future … 

Despite my unenthusiastic view of this book, I do plan on reading the second book. I do want to know what happens next but I really hope it was written a lot better. After that I don’t know if I could read another book by Danielle Paige. I just disliked her writing style. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟 because I’m feeling generous. 

3 thoughts on “Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige 

  1. I enjoyed this book slightly more then you I think, however, I can totally get behind a lot of what you are saying! It took a long time for me to really get into it. The beginning is just horrendous…the only thing that kept me going was that everyone I had asked said to just give it a chance.

    Once Amy got to wonderland it was a little better. However, Amy is very obnoxious! Totally agree! I get that she was pretty much feeling alone, but come on? She took the Wicked teams bait pretty damn quickly.

    I enjoyed the second book A LOT more than the first. It was pretty much filled with twists I wasn’t expecting.

    I’m glad you are going to continue and I hope you like Book #2 better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

