The Selection by Kiera Cass

  
First I want to say sorry for being so inactive lately. It’s been a crazy couple of weeks but I’m going to try to remember to post more often now that things are slowing down again. 

The Selection by Kiera Cass; 327 pages 

The prince is coming of age to marry. As per tradition in Illea, he will marry a daughter of the people. 

America Singer is a five, just a few levels above the lowest caste. Just like every girl in Illea, she has entered herself in the Selection. Unlike every girl in Illea, America was chosen as one of thirty five to compete to be the future wife of the prince and to become the future queen. 

To start I want to say I did not expect to like this book. That being said, I absolutely loved this book! 

Something about it made me hesitant to read it but now I’m so glad I did. I really liked the characters in the book. I thought America was very real, well, as real as a fictional character can be. I found myself understanding her, the way she was feeling and acting and it made it so easy to connect to her. 

Plus o really like the storyline. It was similar to a lot of books coming out lately but at the same time it was completely different. There were dystopian aspects to it but it mainly focused on the girls and the prince and how things were going within the palace versus outside it. 

I’m so excited to start the second book … As soon as I go buy it. It’ll have to be part of my book buying ban slip up next month! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare; hopefully coming Thursday! 

7 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

