City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  
City of Bones by Cassandra Clare; 485 pages

Clary and her best friend Simon were having a normal night. That is, until Clary saw someone get murdered. Now she is swept up into the world of Shadowhunters and demons. To make matters worse, her mother has been kidnapped by demons. 

Just a reminder, this is my opinion and I hope people respect it. That being said, I think this book was incredibly overhyped. Is it a good story? Definitely. Is it one of the best books I’ve read? Not even close. I didn’t feel an intense draw to it which, for me, makes a book special. 

I did think the characters were interesting, I particularly liked Simon. There was definitely a plot twist I didn’t see coming which was cool and a little weird. I just couldn’t get really into it. I’m hoping I like the second one better. I just think there was so much hype around this series for so long I just expected more. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next review: Private by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

7 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. KEEP READING! You are completely entitled to your opinion, but I swear to you: I was not immensely invested in this series until City of Glass. It gets better and better as the series goes on! Or maybe try the Infernal Devices Series. Those are even better and introduces the world a little clearer. I had a friend who didn’t really like City of Bones, but, after reading City of Ashes, loved the series! Some people never really get into it, but many do. Give it another shot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely plan on reading City of Ashes! I do appreciate the encouragement though. I added City of Ashes to my tbr jar for the fall so if I pull it I will definitely read it. Maybe I’ll try the first book in the Infernal Devices series next. One of the things that made me iffy about it was how quickly they jumped into the story so a little more backstory might be nice! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome! I hope you grow to like it. I’m actually rereading it as we speak and the nostalgia is overwhelming. There’s also going to be a TV show!! IM SO EXCITED! Sorry. Fangirling a bit too hard right now…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha it’s absolutely all right. I actually started reading it because of the tv series! I’m not one to stop reading a series so I’ll definitely finish it. I don’t really know much about the rest of the series so hopefully going in blind will help with the rest of the books!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

