Books I want my children to read 

So I’m always looking for new ideas for posts. This time I thought of the idea “books I want my children to read”! 

Each book or book series will come with an explanation because some of them might seem strange. 

I think every story means something to everyone. These are 20 stories that have made an impact in my life that I want to pass down to my children eventually. 

1) Harry Potter series by JK Rowling- this series has taught me so much about friends and family and imagination. I owe so much to this series because it is the series that first made me love reading. I hope one day it can mean as much to my children as it does to me.    
2) The Lord of the Ring series by JRR Tolkien- this series sent me on my first major adventure into a book world. It helped me strengthen a friendship that means the world to me, I introduced my best friend to this series and it was something we were able to bond over in middle school. She’s been my best friend for 18 years now. 

 

3) The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins- one thing these book showed me was that good things can happen in the most unlikely of times. It’s also a book about strength, never back down from what you believe in. 
   
4) The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer- I don’t have a legitimate reason other than I just really like this series. 

  5) A Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin- it’s important to have a sense of adventure at any age, these books are directed at an older audience and has everything an adult needs to make them feel young and rediscover their sense of adventure but not make them feel like they are reading a children’s book.   
6) Paper Towns by John Green- two lessons in this one; first is, if there’s something out there you want, go after it. Don’t sit around waiting for it to come to you. Second is, you don’t always get what you want. Not everyone gets their fairytale ending. 

 

7) Night by Elie Wiesel- the story of a holocaust survivor, it was eye opening and is something everyone needs to read. 
   
8) Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys- I absolutely love history and I had never read about what happens in this book before. It was something different, something you don’t hear about often. 

  

9) My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult- this book teaches you the importance of family. Everyone is their own person and has a voice and deserves to be heard.   
10) All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven- mental illness is no joke. It is important that we acknowledge it and learn how to recognize signs of it. 

 

11) Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein- it’s a new take on WWII and it shows that women played a major role in the war even if it is not widely acknowledged. 
   
12) All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr- another WWII book, I love historical fiction and this book was just so different from what I’m used to. It was incredibly well written and so unique. 

 

13) The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling- this book is about everyday life in a British village after the death of a prominent member of society. It looks at all aspects of life and shows it’s important to remember that it doesn’t matter what walk of life you come from, everyone is important. 
   
14) Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon- this book series has so many feels, makes you feel so many good things. It would be something I would want my children to read when they are my age (early 20s) to give them unreal expectations in men  because Jamie Fraser. 

 

15) Looking for Alaska by John Green- life is short, you never know where your life is going to go so you have to make the most of it while you can. Love your life, iove your life. 
   
16) The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult- her books are always about making difficult decisions in life and this one is no different. 

 

17) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series by Ransom Riggs- don’t forget what you believe in and stay true to it. 
   
18) Michael Bennett series by James Patterson- it’s a good mystery series that deserves to be read. 

 

19) Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys- an inspiring story about a young girl living in New Orleans in the 50’s. She wants to get out, to get away from the life she has and she’s doing everything she can to make that possible. 
   
20) The Help by Kathryn Stockett- segregation was very real and a large part of history in the south. It’s important to acknowledge it and recognize that it happened so something like this doesn’t happen again. 

 

And that’s my list! I hope all of you enjoyed it 🙂 

3 thoughts on “Books I want my children to read 

Leave a Reply

