Throwback Thursday:Book Edition

This weeks throwback Thursday is:

Books that inspired me to read! 

  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was the first chapter book I ever read by myself. My dad read it to me for the first time when it first came out in the United States and then about 6 months later I was reading it out loud to him. After that my parents and later my aunt would buy me all the books when they first came out! It’s the book that got me started with reading. 
  The Lord of the Rings trilogy was my next big adventure into the book world. I talked my mom into letting me watch the first movie when I was a kid and then I was so entranced by it she went out and bought me the entire trilogy to read. It was the most difficult story I read in middle school but I fell in love with the world and the story. 
  When I got into high school I took a step in a new direction with my reading. I had to do a project for an English class and for it I read Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult. It was the first really adult book that I read, with heavy content and a really tragic storyline. All I had to do was read the first paragraph and I was hooked, so that’s how I presented the book to my class. It worked. The next year one of Jodi Picoults books was on our required reading list. 
   
   Now, as an adult my taste in books has expanded even more. I still read fantasy, some still in that young adult category and some in the more adult category. I love historical fiction now! I’m not sure which story actually put me on to historical fiction but the one I remember best is Code Name Verity. I’ll read just about anything now, except for the erotic romance stuff. I just can’t do it. 

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday:Book Edition

      1. Awesome! I know what you mean about the movie cover editions. That’s what I had for LOTR before I upgraded to a UK boxed set a few months back. I hate having movie cover editions of books.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

