The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern; 512 pages

Celia is the daughter of Prospero the Enchanter, a famous illusionist. 

Marco is an orphan plucked out of the orphanage by a man in a grey suit. 

Both are trained in the art of magic and enchantments for the purpose of a challenge. Both are put in the midst of an enchanting traveling circus, the venue for their challenge. Neither have any idea how to win this challenge they have been preparing for since childhood. 

First, I want to say that whoever wrote the blurb on the back did an awful job. They made me think this was about something that it was not and that is not okay. That person is the reason I don’t read descriptions on the backs of books. They gave away things that happen 300+ pages into the book for crying out loud! That is NOT okay! Especially because, the way I read the book, that info was meant to be a heartbreaking plot twist that was lessened by the fact that I was waiting for it for 300 goddamn pages. 

I have a rule about review writing, nothing after the first quarter of the book. Ever. Never ever. 

Second, the beginning of the book was weird, probably because of the blurb on the back. I expected it to jump right into the circus and develop the backstory as it went along but it didn’t. It was a bit confusing because it was jumping back and forth in time, but I figured out who was who and involved with which stories pretty quick. There are a lot of characters to keep track of as well. 

Third, I LOVED the descriptions of the circus!! Absolutely beautiful! It makes me want to go to a circus like this so much! It was all so magical! And it made me want to visit a fortune teller so much because of the bits with the circus’s fortune teller! Ugh it was so good! Plus, once it got more into the circus, the story was much easier to follow! 

Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟

Currently reading: Cress by Marissa Meyer

8 thoughts on “The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. Let’s just throw the person that did the blurb into the fire and the other books of the world are safe, hahaha! I still want to read this book, baddly, haha! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m currently rereading this now and it’s one of my favourites ❀ The blurb written there is very different to the one on my own copy, mine says "The circus arrives without warning. No announcements proceed it…It is simply there, when yesterday it was not." I love that version of the blurb because it's so short and mysterious and gives absolutely nothing away. I can't stand it when a blurb gives too much away!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

