City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare 

  
City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare; 453 pages

Will contain spoilers! 

Valentine has the Mortal Cup. But that is not all he is after. He wants to take possession of the Soul Sword and change it from light to dark. He wants to use it to raise and control an army of demons. 

Meanwhile, Jace has been cast out of the Institute by the Lightwoods and Clary is struggling to accept the information that Jace is her brother. 

Okay, I have to start by saying I was slightly disturbed by some of the things I read in this book. Like what the actual fuck was all of that with Clary and Jace?! It was 100% unnecessary to the storyline! No one wants to read about two new found siblings pining for each other! Yes, I’m guessing that they’re not really brother and sister but I don’t really care it was still weird. 

The story was kinda all over the place too. I was never completely sure what exactly was going on because there were so many random plot lines that were thrown in all over the place. It wasn’t very fluid writing. Plus she drops bombs and doesn’t follow up on them or doesn’t do it in a satisfactory way. 

I’m still planning on continuing my read of the series but I’m in no rush to do so. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

Next review: The 8th Confession by James Patterson

Leave a Reply

