A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas; 416 pages

Feyre made a promise to her mother that she would look after her family. Now 19, she is her family’s only source for food. One day while out hunting she takes down a wolf and skins it for its pelt. Unbeknownst to her, the wolf was actually a faerie and now the High Fae, Tamlin, has come to collect. 

Feyre is given a choice: die in repayment for the life she took or live out the remainder of her life in the magical and dangerous faerie lands. 

Wow. Loved this book so much! 

I have to say this first, if I hadn’t known it was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast I may not have picked up on it as easily. Knowing it was though, it was so easy to pick out the familiar storylines and I loved it! 

I absolutely loved the characters in this book! Normally, Feyre is not a character I would connect with. She’s very cold and calculating and I’m not always a huge fan of female characters being written that way because they aren’t always well written parts. Maas did a brilliant job writing the part of Feyre! And Tamlin was such a great character! You can tell the whole time he is hiding something and it just makes him so intriguing. Lucien was a wonderful addition to the story as well. I loved his wit and humor. 

I did find Feyre to be a bit slow on the uptake though. There’s a part at the end (don’t worry no spoilers) where I thought she should have figured something out way quicker than she did … I figured it out right away but I’m the reader I suppose. 

I just really enjoyed the story and the writing. I loved the world that Maas created, it was dark and beautiful and just wonderful! 

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series (being released this May!) and to finally get to the Throne of Glass series! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Currently reading: The Goldfinch by Donna Tratt and A Storm of Swords by George RR Martin (so it might be a while before another review, sorry) 

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

