The 5th Wave Movie Review

  
Photo from Google. 

THERE WILL BE MOVIE AND BOOK SPOILERS. ILL TRY TO KEEP THEM TOWARDS THE END SO ONCE YOU SEE MY RATING KNOW THE SPOILERS WILL COME AFTER!!!!!!!!! 

You can read my book review here but it’s gonna read a bit like the background info below. 

Background: 

The first wave took out the power. 

The second wave was an earthquake so strong it shook the entire Earth. The the tidal waves followed. 

The third wave was a virus. Some were immune, some fought it off, even more died. 

The fourth wave the others infiltrated the human race. 

Now the fifth wave …..

Characters: 

  1. Cassie- your main protagonist and the narrator, most of the story follows her. 
  2. Sam- Cassie’s little brother and her main reason for survival
  3. Ben Parrish- another (main) protagonist, I put main in parentheses because he comes into play more in the second half. 
  4. Evan Walker- keep your eyes on this one

Plot: 

There’s an alien spacecraft orbiting the Earth. They are systematically taking out the human race. The military is gathering all the children to fight in the war. They will be the easiest to train and more likely be able to do what needs to be done. 

Cassie and her brother Sam are supposed to be on their way to one of these military bases until they get separated. While Sam is in training, along with Ben Parrish, Cassie is doing everything she can to get back to Sam. 

Movie rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5/5

Book to movie adaptation rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5/5

Here’s where things might get spoiler-y

My thoughts:

It’s been a while since I read the book. That being said I remembered a good chunk once the movie got going. I really thought they did a good job with the adaptation. They followed the sequence of the book for the most part, the kept with the main plot lines, and they made the characters how they were supposed to be. 

I thought the beginning of the movie was a bit slow, not gonna lie, but you needed the characters building and the background info before they dove into the main plot of the story. I thought they did a really good job casting the characters. The actors did a great job bringing them to life. 

I was a little disappointed in how they revealed that Evan was an other (not actually a spoiler because they ruined it in the trailer). I didn’t know he was one until the reveal in the book. I was blinded by how good of a person he was and never thought to think it was suspicious. But I’m pretty sure (and I could be wrong) she comes to the realization that he is one of them after he says something or does something that wasn’t “normal” and that’s what it was, not when more of the others try to take him out in the woods and pretty much shouts it for the whole world to hear (kinda lame in my opinion). 

Also, I thought Evan was supposed to be with them at the end when they’re leaving the military base …. I could be misremembering that though. 

There really weren’t that many spoilers in this but I had to give the warning anyway. All in all a very solid movie and a very solid adaptation. I’m hoping they stay on this path and the next one is accurate as well (well maybe, I haven’t actually read the book yet so I don’t know how good it is). 

Leave a Reply

