Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

  
Passenger by Alexandra Bracken; 486 pages

Present Day: New York

Etta is a young violinist trying to make a name for herself. And then everything gets turned upside down. During a performance something strange happens. She starts hearings feedback and when she goes to investigate she meets a strange girl. 

The next thing Etta knows is she’s waking up on a ship in the middle of the ocean during the 18th century. 

This was my first book by Alexandra Bracken and I was pretty impressed by it. I thought the book started off very strong. I liked the way she introduced the characters and the overall storyline.

I thought the traveling was so cool! I loved that they had the ability to jump to different time periods and countries just by passing by through a portal. It had me wanting to read more and more about their travels and the time periods they were traveling to! I wanted the book to be so much longer or broken up into more parts so there could be more about their travels but there wasn’t. 

Then I got toward the end of the book. By then I was so over Etta as a character. She was so unfocused and  self centered and it really bugged me. You learn pretty quickly that she is on a mission or save her mother and it seems like she is not focused on that at all. It’s like all she cares about is herself and her love life, which is so important when your mother’s life is at risk. 

Other than that I really enjoyed the book. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs 

2 thoughts on “Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Leave a Reply

