Red Rising by Pierce Brown


Red Rising by Pierce Brown; 382 pages 

Darrow is a Red. He and the other Reds mine the planet Mars in order to make it inhabitable. Then Darrow loses his wife and I set to die himself. But he was chosen by the Sons of Ares, he must help them bring down the Society. Now he is put on the path to becoming a Gold, and a high ranking one as he is transformed and enters the Institute. 

Okay, that summary was awful. But it’s a hard book to summarize because the first 100 pages were an info dump. There was just so much info that they threw at you and I was so confused at times and it was not fun. I really considered putting it down after about 50 pages. But someone told me to stick with it through part 1 and I did and I am so glad I did!

After the first 100 pages the story got to be so amazing!! Darrow is such a fantastic character! And the story line was awesome!! It had a Hunger Games vibe to it but there was less killing and more plotting. It was such a cool book to read! 

I loved the idea that all the recruits to the Institute were drafted into houses and all the houses go to war with each other … It was so cool to read all the strategizing and carry out their plots. I really cannot wait to read Golden Son! I hope it’s as good as the first book! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next up: Private London by James Patterson

10 thoughts on “Red Rising by Pierce Brown

  1. I heard it took a while to get into because of the massive info thrown at you, but that it’s totally worth it. All the reviews are so enthusiastic that I will probably get to it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You definitely have to get through part 1 before you get to the major plot and all the action but once you got to that it earned a 5 star rating!! Totally worth struggling through the first part.

      Like

Leave a Reply

