Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard


Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard; 383 pages 

Mare Barrow is a red. She has conceded that all she is meant for is conscription into a war that cannot be won. But then everything changes when she is sent to work at the royal’s summer palace. There an incident occurs and she finds out there is something different about her, something special. She is something no one has ever seen before. And she is dangerous. 

I first read this book in February of 2015 when it first came out. Then when Glass Sword came out I picked it up and realized I didn’t remember anything from this book. So I finally got around to rereading this one and, I must say, I loved it even more than the first time around! 

Mare is such a great character. She is adaptable and strong and she knows who she is. She doesn’t let the situation change her basic principles, she doesn’t let what is happening overshadow what has happened. I know there are a lot of people who didn’t like her as a character, and that is fine because everyone is entitled to their opinion, but I thought she was fantastic!

Maven. Even though I knew everything that was going to happen with him, he still managed to break my heart for a second time. Aveyard writes his character so perfectly. He is the sweet and innocent prince who lives in his brother’s shadow his entire life. You feel for him and you love him and then he breaks you into a million little pieces and makes you question everything you read and felt. Brilliantly written. 

Cal I was rather indifferent about. He had his moments where he was the charming Prince, the man who would one day make a good leader. And then he would have his moments where he would be a complete ass and you cannot stand him. I think I like Mare because you felt the way she felt about all the characters. You loved who she loved, you hated who she hated. It makes her more believable. 

I loved the overall plot of the book. It has your typical dystopian/fantasy aspects to it but there is something so unique about it too. I liked the world building, it didn’t feel rushed. It was all very interesting and intricate. I liked the path Mare was set on during the book and I like the way she handled everything. 

I really enjoyed this book twice so I would highly recommend it if you haven’t read it yet. 

Rating: šŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸ

Next review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner 

7 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

