A Ban of Buying Books


Books, books, and more books! 

I have officially placed myself on a book buying ban until the release of A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir this upcoming August. 

I know, it’s a long time to go without buying books. And I mean of any kind, no spending money on books. That does give me a little leeway with the library but I’m going to try to get through what I have for now. My TBR jar probably has 100+ books in it right now! I cannot, in good conscience, add any more books to that jar. Plus I cannot physically add any more books to that jar either so …. That helps. 

I’m hoping I can stick with it until then. Wish me luck! 

19 thoughts on “A Ban of Buying Books

  1. Good luck! I tried going on a ban too. It lasted two days, haha! But I do have fewer books than you on my TBR (around 50). Today again I bought a book that was on my wishlist because of the Amazon discount. I must learn how to stay away from that website. I can’t rely on the library because they don’t have a wide range of choices, that makes me feel a little less guilty about buying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My library doesn’t have a huge selection either and even less of a selection of ebooks which I typically get. But I’ve last 5 days so far on the ban! So I’m hoping I can do it lol

      Like

  2. Good luck 😄 I ban myself all the time but I always cave! I’m on a semi ban right now so I’m not aloud to buy online or at full price but if I see a good deal or any second hand books it’s fair game haha.
    I have way to many books on my shelf that I’ve been putting off reading because I’ve bought new books.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I never go to the library. I don’t know why, I really should I’m sure my wallet would thank me haha!

        Hopefully you make a good sized dint so you can get some new books to make up another pile 😄 Seriously its a never ending cycle for me, I’ll finally get on top of my TBR and poof its out of control again 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Mine is beyond out of control! Especially since I learned my library let’s you borrow ebooks and there’s a way to download them so you can keep them after your borrowing period is up 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I can’t wait to go have a look now! So many books I’ve been wanting to read but haven’t bought yet 😄 I hope your happy that your book buying ban post has contributed to my overgrowing TBR list 😄 hahaha No seriously though thank you, I can see this becoming my new favorite thing.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have done this a few times. I wish you all the luck. I personally find that it gets easier every time I do it. It’s like I have this really great time with the books that I already own, and then don’t mind doing it again down the pike. I ook forward to seeing how it will turn out for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If I can do it, so can you! I’ve entered my fourth month without buying books – it is damn hard and frustrating, but at least I’m knocking my Goodreads TBR instead of just adding to it, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

