Me Before You- The Movie


Me Before You; 1hr 50min

Starring: Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Jenna Coleman, Matthew Lewis, Steve Peacocke, Charles Dance, Janet McTeer

Synopsis: When Louisa Clark loses her job at The Buttered Bun she is desperate for work so she can continue to help her family. When a post for a caregiver becomes available she is eager for the job. And then she meets Will Traynor, her sarcastic and depressed patient. With no real caregiver skills, Lou has to rely on her charm to break through his hard exterior. 

My thoughts: 

  1. Emilia Clarke is amazing. I’ve only ever seen her play Dany on Game of Thrones and Louisa could not be a more different character. She was absolutely amazing! She was just what I picture Lou to look like and she acted just how I thought she would act. She was goofy and dumb and perfect. 
  2. Lou’s wardrobe. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 for that. I love that they dressed her in eccentric outfits like in the book! It was so fun to see all the different clothes and shoes! 
  3. Sam Claflin was also amazing. I can imagine how difficult it must have been to play the part. He is such an expressive actor, all it took was a look and he could have you laughing or crying. 
  4. I loved the guy who played Nathan. I thought he was so hot and then the accent that I would find myself distracted sometimes. 
  5. The adaptation …. It’s been a while since I read the book but I have absolutely no problem with this book to movie adaptation. I thought it was amazing. They had all the major moments I was waiting for and I was totally fine with some of the stuff that they left out. I love that we got to see their adventures together, I love that we got to see their vacation. I love that we got to see quite a bit of the families and I really love that we got to see the bumblebee tights. 
  6. The chemistry. I thought there was such good chemistry between Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin. You could see the developing relationship between the characters, sometimes just in a glance. I enjoyed the dialogue between them as well. They had me absolutely sobbing by the end of the movie. 
  7. People need to stop mocking Emilia Clarke’s eyebrows. They’re eyebrows and they’re expressive, so what. They are what made some of her facial expressions funny when they were meant to be. 
  8. The critics, those paid to publish their thoughts in newspapers and online, can kiss my ass because they have no taste in movies. I saw so many bad reviews about this movie and I thought it was absolutely amazing. I feel like those people go into movies with such weird expectations that the movies can never live up to them. They don’t look at movies for the entertainment value, they rate them for other things and I want to know how because they always seem to go against public opinion. 

Book to movie adaptation rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Movie rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

7 thoughts on “Me Before You- The Movie

Leave a Reply

