Flashback Friday: The Book That Started It All


A lot of us have that book that we can attribute our love to reading to. So what I’m wondering is, what book is that for you? 

For me, it is the first Harry Potter book. I used to love it when my dad would read to me before bed and when I was around the age of 5 or 6 one of my moms coworkers recommended a new book that had come out about wizards. So, my mom went out and bought a non picture book for my dad to read to me and every night he would read me a chapter of this new and exciting book called Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

I was completely hooked on the story. I would beg and beg for him to read more than one chapter each night because it was all so exciting and I wanted to be a wizard so bad! I would tell my dad I couldn’t wait to turn 11 so maybe I could go to Hogwarts! 

The book came to a close far too soon for my liking and it was going to be a few more months before the second book came out. The impatient child that I was wasn’t satisfied that the book was over. So at the age of 6 I picked it up and sat down at the kitchen table while my dad made dinner and read the book to him. 

It was the first real book I ever read. My family was so impressed that I read that on my own at such a young age that my aunt started buying me the new books when they came out. I have a few copies with personalized messages in the cover from her, encouraging me to keep on reading. 

Ever since my dad picked that book up and started to read it to me I have loved books and getting lost in the story. I used to love pretending that I was a witch and I would be going off to Hogwarts where I would learn how to brew potions and cast spells. It sparked a flame in me that will never be extinguished. 

I owe so much to these books and to JK Rowling. She was what made my childhood amazing. She was responsible for sparking my creativity. Those books awoke a desire for adventure and true friendship. I will never forget that. 

So, do you have a book that awoke your desire to read? I would love to hear what it is. 

6 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: The Book That Started It All

  1. I loved reading before I read Harry Potter, but Harry Potter was definitely the book that made me really love it. It’s the first book I truly connected with (Hermione). I’m still obsessed šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually don’t remember the first book I read. I was never a huge reader until about 2 years ago. I would read, but not nearly as much as I did now. Just a few books a year. I remember the first kind of risque YA book I read & that was Crank by Ellen Hopkins. I think that was the one that really put me more into a reading mood. Oh, and Twilight lol

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually didn’t even finish the last book because I thought it was so corny xD but it’s been so long that I actually don’t remember enough of the book to say it was bad or good ? I’d have to reread it lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

