What’s in a Name…

Book titles are a huge thing for me. I go for books that sound cool. When people ask me what I’m reading I want to be able to tell them the name of the book and have  them think “Damn. That book sounds awesome.”
So I’m judgey with book titles. As a result, I went through my bookshelves and picked out a handful of titles that, to me, are totally awesome. They’re the kind of titles that makes you want to pick up the book and look at the cover and read the description. 

Here’s my list: 

  1. Game of Thrones
  2. A Madness so Discreet 
  3. Salt to the Sea
  4. Seven Black Diamonds 
  5. The Crown’s Game
  6. The 5th Wave
  7. Rebel of the Sands
  8. Splintered 
  9. Illuminae 
  10. These Shallow Graves
  11. The Serpent King
  12. Throne of Glass
  13. Monument 14 
  14. The Darkest Minds 
  15. Vanishing Girls

As you will have noticed …. I like my titles in 4 words or less. 

I am less likely to pick up a book when the title contains:

  1. More than 4 words. 
  2. The word “love” in the title
  3. Nonsensical words
  4. Hints at love in the title

There are more things but I can’t think of them at the moment for some reason. 

What do you look for in a book title? Or, unlike me, do you not put much stock in the title until you’ve read the description? 

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name…

  1. I think I subconsciously judge the title too. I never mean to, but I used to cringe away from books like “Anna and the French Kiss” because they sound cringey (ironically, it’s now a favourite). But most romance story titles make me cringe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

