The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase #2) by Rick Riordan 


The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase #2) by Rick Riordan; 480 pages

Summary:

Thor’s Hammer is missing. Without it, he has no way to keep the Giants from attacking Midgard. He enlists the help of Magnus and Sam to find it for him. 

At the same time, Loki is plotting to marry Sam off to an earth giant … what his motives are… well that’s for Sam and Magnus to figure out. 

Thoughts:

Oh my god these books. I am absolutely in love with this series! 

Absolutely loved this book! 

It was entertaining, funny, and so informative! That’s what I love about Riordan’s books, even at 24 I still feel like I’m learning when I’m reading. And he makes learning so much fun. He creates memorable characters and sends them on wild adventures, all the while teaching you about mythology. It’s amazing. 

Jack and Magnus are such a great pairing for this story. And I love the additions of Sam, Blitz, Hearth, and (in this book) Alex! They make this book so funny and entertaining!

And the humor! I love all the pop culture references. Yes, in 10 years it’s going to be outdated to anyone younger reading it, but who cares. They’ll have their own ways to look all that stuff up. I love all the Taylor Swift and Beyoncé and Star Wars references made in the book! It made it so much more funny! I need them to make this series into a (well done and accurate) movie series just so I can hear Jack the Sword of Summer singing along to Beyoncé and Taylor Swift. 

Don’t get me wrong, this book gets pretty ridiculous at times but I think that’s what makes me love it so much. And don’t get me started on the chapter titles …. they just crack me up. Riordan is the best when it comes to thinking up these crazy chapter titles! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next review: The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Now reading: Gemina by Aime Kaufman 

Leave a Reply

