Let’s Talk: Book Reviews

I am going to pose two questions with this post: 

  1. When writing a review, do you like to keep it short and sweet or go into detail?
  2. When reading a review, do you like short and to the point reviews or long and descriptive reviews?

So, let’s chat! 

My answer to both of those questions is the same. The shorter the better. 

My/Your Thoughts:

When I am writing a review of a book it is typically right after I finished reading it. Which explains why some of my reviews are very fangirl-y and some aren’t. Those that aren’t are typically written a few days later. 

But one thing you will notice is how long they are. They’re never very long. I think my review of Gemina is the longest review I’ve written in a while and I don’t think it was all that long. Definitely spazzy and fangirl-y though. 

I think keeping it short and to the point is the best way to minimize the chance of me spoiling something for someone. And if I’m going to spoil something I always wait until the end and mark it as spoilers first. 

But the same goes for when I am reading a review. I will click on the review and the first thing I do is see how long it is. If it’s my kind of short, I’ll read it. If it’s crazy long with a lot of indepth analysis and character profiles and all that jazz, I skip to wherever the rating is and just look at that. 

The way I see it, the more you write in a review, the more likely you are to spoil something for someone. And if I’m reading a review I want to avoid spoilers at all costs. 

Descriptions: 

Descriptions can be the worst sometimes. 

I generally write my own description when I’m writing my review. And I always try to take my info from the first quarter of the book so I don’t ruin any major plot twists. 

I will not read a description if someone says it’s from the blurb on the back of the book or from Goodreads. I have had too many books spoiled that way. 

But that’s just me. I want to hear what you guys think now so feel free to leave a comment! 

10 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: Book Reviews

  1. I don’t really have a set review length. I try not to go more than 800-900 words for the whole blog post. Sometimes it’s less. (I’m sure in my excitement it’s been more.) Really I just write however I feel, and whatever I think though I don’t purposely try to give things away, and avoid talking about major plot points. To play devils advocate, I do also think that anyone who is choosing to read a review is doing so knowingly at their own risk, so I don’t really worry overly much about that.

    Reviews I read, I like somewhere in the middle. If the review is too short then I don’t feel like I’m really getting a good idea about how I would feel about the book, especially if there isn’t any detail about the book, but I also don’t like overly long rambling reviews. (Mainly because my mind will wander.)

    Description, I definitely prefer the description from Goodreads or the back of the book, and I like it to be separate from the review. That way, if I have read the back of the book or I already know what the book is about, I can easily glide right over it and get to what I’m looking for and that’s the actual review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s very true about a reader reading the review at their own risk. I really try to keep the spoilers out and leave the discussions of specifics to the end where people can avoid them if they want.
      I tend to like short reviews because it peaks my curiosity, well if its done correctly.
      I always make sure to mark the description as separate from my thoughts on it, but like I said, I write my own because I feel like the blurb on the back or Goodreads gives too much away sometimes. Or sometimes it doesn’t say enough.

      Like

      1. I also find they can be really deceiving sometimes, there trying to make the book sound a certain way when there’s a lot more going on.
        I always use The Night Circus as an example. I thought it would be this beautiful story about a circus and all the acts and magic and so on based off the blurb on the back but half the book was not what I expected.

        Like

  2. Exactly the same as you! I try very hard to keep reviews around 500 words and avoid all spoilers. If I go to read a review and see it’s massive, I just skim for anything important and look at the rating and maybe their “final thoughts” to give me an overall impression.
    The worst is those reviews you sometime see where the reviewer basically re-tells the contents of whole book! Those can spoil the whole thing 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I pains me to see the long reviews that do a major analysis of the entire book because they give so much away so I always end up just reading any final thoughts or just looking at the rating. I understand that people get excited and kinda end up ranting and going on and on (see my Gemina review, I rant for sure) so I’ll read it if it’s more fangirling and less analysis. Those can be fun to read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My reviews used to be longer, I would go more into details and discuss particular points of the story. But now I prefer to stick to 600/800 words, with quotes and a personal blurb when I’m inspired. I like it better when a review doesn’t tell you everything about a book, if you want to discuss more precise points, you can always do so in comments. I try to talk about my overall feelings and the reasons why I gave my rating, and let readers discover the book for themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love having conversations in the comments about the book I just reviewed. It’s why I try to leave the finer points of discussion out and just talk about what I loved about the book.
      Honestly though, I have such a hard time writing reviews. I never what to write because I want people to enjoy it but I don’t want to be obnoxious in my review at the same time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

