The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus #3) by Rick Riordan

The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus #3) by Rick Riordan; 586 pages

Warning: Spoliers beyond this point for the first two books. Readers be warned. 

Summary: 

The seven demigods have gathered in New Rome. It is time for them to fulfill the prophecy of the seven. At the same time, Annabeth is given her own task, following the Mark of Athena, avenging her mother. 

My thoughts: 

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first two books in the series but I still thought it was good. As usual, it was filled with humor and action and tons of new mythology from the Greek and Roman worlds. 

I think there was just too much going on with all 7 of the demigods together. When reading a Riordan book, you’re so used to there just being 3 or 4 characters going on an adventure but this time there was double that. I think it took away from some parts of the book. 

I did enjoy the book though. It was your typical Riordan book and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series! I’m thinking, because the group is split up again, it’ll be more like what I’m used to… maybe some bouncing back and forth though, who knows. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Next review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

