Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo


Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy Book 1) by Leigh Bardugo; 358 pages 

Summary: 

The nation of Ravka is torn in two by the Shadow Fold. When Alina, a mapmaker, is forced to cross the Fold, she is terrified because of the monsters that hide in the darkness. When their convoy is attacked something strange happens and she finds herself in front of the Darkling, the second most powerful man in the kingdom. Alina is a Grisha, the Grisha that may have the ability to rid Ravka of the Shadow Fold. 

My thoughts: 

I absolutely love this world that Bardugo has created. I love the idea of Grishas and Grisha magic. It is all so cool to read about! Everything about it is so unique and so interesting! I think she could continually come up with stories about the Grisha and I would read them. 

I absolutely loved this book. I flew through it because there was never a dull moment. It started off quick and never slowed down. I really enjoyed that Bardugo took her time with the telling of the story of Alina’s training. Some authors gloss over parts like that but I think that’s half the fun of reading a story like this. Now we have two more books to get into the heart of the story. 

I am so excited to get into the rest of this series! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: (1/105)

Pop Sugar 2017 Reading Challenge: The first book in a series you haven’t read before. 

6 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

