Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass Book 3) by Sarah J. Maas; 562 pages

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FROM BOOK 2. 

In fact my summary is going to spoil the ending of book 2….

You’ve been warned, I recommend you don’t read on if you haven’t read Crown of Midnight yet. 

Summary: 

Because I am lost,” she whispered onto the earth. “And I do not know the way.” 

Celaena Sardothien is Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, rightful queen of Terresan. 

Sent on a new mission by the king, Celaena encounters the fae where she is taken before her aunt, Queen Maeve. To find out how to defeat the king, Celaena must learn to harness the part of her that has been hidden for 10 years. 

My thoughts: 

I think this book contained the most character development of all the books so far. This is such a pivotal point in the series, the book where everything starts to change and I love it! 

I loved seeing the characters develop. Celaena is learning to embrace who she is. Dorian is finding love and learning about his magic. I thought Chaol was going to ruin the development train but even he figured out where his loyalties truly lie at the end there. 

I also really loved the introduction of all the new characters. Stoic Rowan, who saw through all of Celaena’s bullshit and fought for her to succeed. Manon, the heartless witch of the Blackbeak coven. And especially Aedion, a loyal and fierce warrior who only wants to see his queen regain her kingdom. I liked him the most. 

I also loved this book because Maas took her time developing it. This book was the start of something totally new in this world and it was either going to go really well or really bad. People always complain about books being too long but I’d rather have a longer book where the author takes their time to go through everything that’s happening and changing than a short book where everything is glossed over. I thought this book went really well! 

I’m really looking forward to picking up The Assassin’s Blade! I have to figure out where to put it on my TBR now! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: (3/105)

Books in the Wild Challenge: A book longer than 500 pages

Next review: Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken 

Leave a Reply

