How to Avoid a Reading Slump!


We’ve all gone through one, reading slumps are the absolute worst! I hit a horrible slump back in mid September that last until nearly Christmas! It was absolutely awful. I just couldn’t figure out how to get out of it. Until I started changing things up. 

Now, there’s no guarantee this will work for everyone or that it will work long term but it’s been working for me over the last 7 weeks so I thought I’d share! 

Around Christmas I realized how far behind I was on my Goodreads Challenge and wanted to speed up my reading, so I started reading graphic novels and short stories. I realized it kept my reading pace at a decent speed and thought it would be a good idea to keep it up. So now whenever I finish reading a novel I don’t pick up my next one right away. I put down the big, heavy book and pick up a graphic novel. Right now I’m reading The Walking Dead graphic novels and I’m reading them by volume, not by issue. So each one is around 130 pages and I just fly through them in a couple hours! They’re also something different to read in between each novel so I don’t feel like I’m reading the same genre over and over again. 

Another way to do this, if you don’t feel like reading a graphic novel is to watch something- a movie, a tv show, some YouTube videos. Just do something different. 

Another thing that I’ve found helpful is the time of day I finish a book. I know it’s hard to time when you’ll finish a book but I always try to finish reading a book at night. That way I can either end my day with a graphic novel or start off the next one with a graphic novel and have a night of sleep between books. 

Those are just some thoughts from me, I hope you’ll find something useful in there. 

2 thoughts on “How to Avoid a Reading Slump!

    1. It’s such a good way to break up your reading without really taking a super long break! I was folding laundry and watching A Series of Unfortunate Events yesterday in between books to kinda take a break

      Like

Leave a Reply

