Freeks by Amanda Hocking 

Freeks by Amanda Hocking; 387 pages

Summary: 

Mara and her mother live in an old Winnebago traveling around the country with a carnival. But this is no ordinary traveling carnival, it is a world of magic where people have visions and can levitate things with their mind. When the show stops in the small town of Caudry everything starts to change. 

My thoughts: 

Warning, there may be some spoilers within this portion of my review. 

I went into this book completely blind. I picked it up because of the rave reviews it had been getting since its release and because I could tell it was about a carnival based on the cover of the book. 

This book was more of a YA romance meets supernatural fantasy where I was expecting a book that was about a carnival where people had special powers …. 

The book follows Mara when the carnival sets up in the small town of Caudry. Mara meets a boy named Gabe and they immediately hit it off. A lot of the book is Mara trying to figure out her feelings for Gabe while something evil is stalking the Carnival. The whole book something felt really off about Gabe so I was really glad when they confirmed my suspicions. I enjoyed the book as a whole, especially the ending. I just wish the ending hadn’t felt so rushed. All in all, a good book even if it wasn’t what I was expecting. 

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Goodreads Challenge: (7/105) 

Next review: In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson 

Leave a Reply

