Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard; 142 pages

Queen Song

Summary: Coriane is a member of House Jacos, a high family that has fallen from grace. When her uncle dies her family moves to the capital. There Coriane meets the crown prince, Tiberius the sixth, and there the story begins. 

My thoughts: I really despised Coriane as a character. I’m really glad this was only a short story because I found it hard enough to get into. I’m pretty sure it took my 3 days to read the 60 pages. She was such a weak character, so undetermined, so scared … she’s the goddamn queen and she acts like a child. It would have been a far more interesting story had it been told from someone’s else perspective, like Elara’s. 

Rating: Originally I gave it 3/5 stars but I’m amending it so … 🌟🌟

Steel Scars

Summary: Captain Farley is given her first solo mission for the Scarlet Guard. She is tasked with planting the seed of rebellion in Norta and opening up lines of trade and communication. 

My thoughts: I definitely liked this one better than Queen Song. I enjoed reading about Captain Farley’s mission with the Scarlett Guard and how she came to meet Shade and Mare. It was still pretty underwhelming though, considering how much I loved Red Queen and Glass Sword. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Overall rating: 🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: 22/105

Next review: Sweet Unrest by Lisa Maxwell

2 thoughts on “Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

