Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo 

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2) by Leigh Bardugo; 536 pages 

WARNING THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FROM THE FIRST BOOK OF THE SERIES! 

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST BOOK DONT READ THIS REVIEW.

Summary:

Kaz Brekker is not a man you double cross. That is the mistake Van Eck made. Now Kaz and his crew are out for revenge and they will stop at nothing to save Inej and get the money that is owed to them. 

My thoughts:

When I started this book I wasn’t overly impressed. I enjoyed Six of Crows and had heard this one was even better but it wasn’t living up to its hype for me. I still thought t was good but not amazing. It took until the last 130 pages or so for it to really wow me. The final con they pulled was just great. 

I think I found this one harder to get into because they first book was more cold and methodical and this one had a lot more personal stuff about the characters in it. I thought quite a bit of it was unnecessary for the overall plot. 

I also still don’t get everyone’s obsession with Kaz. He’s a good character but I don’t think he’s swoon worthy. I mean fantasize all you want but he literally cannot touch people without it making him sick. And he’s a complete ass. Wylan and Jesper are still my favorites. Then Inej. I liked Nina a little more in this book and Matthias…. I don’t know. 

I really enjoy this world that Bardugo has created though and I’ve really enjoyed seeing different parts of it so far. I really hope we get to see more of it in the future! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Series rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: 26/105

Pop Sugar Challenge: A book with a red spine

Next review: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan 


Leave a Reply

