Beautiful Book Friday

So a while back I said I wanted to do this every Friday and then, typical me, I forgot. But I’m going to try to get back on track!


This weeks feature is:

A Tyranny of Petticoats: Belles, Bankrobbers, and other Badass Girls edited by Jessica Spotswood

Summary: 

A Tyranny of Petticoats is a collection of short stories about badass women spanning across US history. While the women in the stories are fictional, most of the time periods written about and the events that occurred could be considered very real. Some stories are more fiction than historical but some capture the beliefs and cultures of the people they’re representing. 

You can check out my review for the overall book Here! This is an overall review of the book. If you want to check out my reviews for the individual stories, I only posted those on Goodreads and you can find them Here … at least I hope that let’s you see my thoughts! 

Cover or Content:

While I love the simplicity of the cover of this book, I’m calling it a beautiful book because of the content. While badass female leads are becoming more and more common as more women are writing books, it’s harder to find stories that focus solely on women. Most books have their male leads as well as their females and you constantly see the women fawning over the men or questioning their decisions because of the men but a lot of these stories just focused on the women and I loved that. 

Recommendation: 

I highly recommend picking this book up! It was a fast and fun read and even if you don’t want to read all the stories at once, they break up your other novels nicely! 

My Rating: 4.5/5 šŸŒŸ

Leave a Reply

