Bookworm Travels

So I’m getting ready to go on vacation for a week and I’m trying to figure out which books to bring with me! Because I couldn’t decide I started setting up some guidelines for myself and I thought it was a good how to guide for vacationing.

Here are some of the things I came up with:

  1. Ask yourself if you want to read one log book or multiple short books. It helps you narrow down how many books you’re bringing. 
  2. Nothing too heavy. And by heavy I mean content. I don’t know about all of you but I don’t want to be sitting on a beach reading about tragedies, etc. 
  3. Try to avoid hardcovers. They are so much harder to transport and are so much heavier than paperbacks. 
  4. Kindles are your friend. I usually save kindle books for vacation because they are so much easier to transport. Plus they’re easier while sitting on a beach. 
  5. You can’t go wrong with a mystery! I don’t know what it is about mystery and detective books but they are the perfect vacation reads! 

If you have any tips for traveling I would love to hear them! 

10 thoughts on “Bookworm Travels

  1. Totally agree about not reading anything too heavy while on vacation!
    I also would say don’t bring along a book that you know you won’t be able to put down. Unless you will be having lots of time for uninterrupted reading. So many times when I travel I’m only able to read snippets here and there, and I like to read a book where I won’t mind if someone interrupts me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your list covered it all so well, Nicole! Hope you’re enjoying your vacation =D
    I have this personal rule of only taking one physical book with me to any vacation – I do have the Kindle for reading and, as I always leave the state and stay like weeks and weeks on another place, I ALWAYS end up buying more physical books! So I take only my currently reading and bring on the Kindle for all the rest, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great tips! I normally bring two PB’s in diff genres maybe on fantasy and one contemporary and then have my ebooks which I will mostly read anyhow as it’s easier to read on the go like that. I never bring HC in case they get damaged but I do tend to ring a book with a pretty cover so I can take photos of it on my travels 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

