The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus Book 5) by Rick Riordan; 502 pages

Warning: this review will contain spoilers from the rest of the series!

I don’t recommend reading this if you haven’t read the first four books!

Summary:

The crew of the Argo II is journeying to Athens to stop the rise of Gaea. At the same time Nico, Reyna, and Coach Hedge are fighting their way back to Camp Half Blood with the Athena Parthenon to stop a war between the Greeks and the Romans. 

My thoughts:

I absolutely loved the finale of this series. It was packed with action from the beginning and that action never stopped. I loved that we had chapters from Nico and Reyna’s perspective in this book as well. It’s always nice to mix things up. 

This was another split story novel and I absolutely loved it. It made the whole story move along so much faster. And there were Leo chapters! He was probably my favorite character in the entire series. He’s just so funny and sweet. I also loved reading Nico’s chapters in this book. We really don’t hear much from him early in the story and it was really interesting reading the story from his perspective. I also loved seeing his growth throughout the book. He was someone totally new by the end! And the ending ……. I loved it so much! 

I’m looking forward to starting The Trials of Apollo next! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: 35/105

Books in the Wild Challenge: A book you would be embarrassed to be seen reading (it’s the covers, I’m 25 and they’re really childish)

Pop Sugar Challenge: A book involving a mythical creature. 

Next review: The Doll’s House by MJ Arlidge 

2 thoughts on “The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

  1. I have the same dilemma! I started this series when I was a kid, and I care about what happens to the characters, so I want to keep reading. On one hand, I think we should de-stigmatize adults reading books for younger people, because a book’s target age doesn’t determine the strength of its message/its value. Still, as a 20-something, I’d feel a bit awkward being seen reading this series, say, on public transport. I usually read the ebooks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! Granted, I started this series in my 20s and I started his other series around the same time but I still really enjoy them! I like that I can buy the newer books in hardcover and leave the dust jackets at home so it’s harder to see what I’m reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

