In Defense of Literature 


First, I’m sorry if anyone takes offense to my forthcoming rant. I’ve been seeing so much negativity in the book world lately that I’m starting to get seriously peeved. 

Second, I’m warning you now that this is going to be a rant. I hope you’ll read it with an open mind but that’s all this is going to be. 

So, here goes. 

I’m really getting tired of seeing people openly mock books on social platforms. I understand that not everyone is going to like every book but there’s so much negativity in the world to start with, why do we have to be mean about books?! 

You’re allowed to not like a book. You’re allowed to write a negative review about a book. But why do people have to do so in a mocking tone? It’s no wonder authors are lashing out at readers after some of the reviews I’ve been seeing posted on goodreads lately! You want some examples? These are some examples that had me fuming! 

Someone posted a review of a book I’ve never read and had no intention of reading the other day. They gave it one star and literally wrote “Ha! No!” as their review? I’m sorry what? You’re better off not saying anything instead of openly mocking it like that! You want to know what makes it worse? THE BOOK HASNT EVEN BEEN RELEASED YET! This person is mocking a book that doesn’t come out for another 3 months. That they didn’t even read because they said they didn’t read it. How can you review a book you haven’t read?!

Another example. I read a very scathing negative review of Thirteen Reasons Why the other day that literally ended with the author of the review saying “Have fun in hell Hannah”. I’m sorry, but what makes that okay to say in a review ever?! First off, they are talking about a FICTIONAL CHARACTER in a work of complete FICTION! Second, they spent their whole review making fun of the things that lead up to Hannah’s suicide. As someone who’s been depressed before, I take serious offense to that because I was depressed for similar reasons as Hannah! 

Oh, oh and my favorite one still. I saw a one star review of a fairly popular book where the girl went on and on about how awful the book was because of the main character’s mother …. who was in the book for 30 pages out of 300+…… Like is that for real? You’re writing about how awful a book was because of a character that graced 30 pages? When did we become so overly critical of everything? 

What happened to writing a review in a factual manner. You’re stating an opinion, why can’t we be nice about it? I didn’t like the book because of this and this. I didn’t like this character because of this and this. When did it become funny to tear apart something that someone dedicated a year of their life to? When did it become okay to make people feel bad about reading and enjoying a book? 

When did it become okay to say mean things to fans too? The number of arguments I’ve seen on goodreads lately is appalling! People should be ashamed of themselves. Everyone has their own taste in books. Don’t ever make someone feel bad for liking a certain author or a certain genre. I feel sick going on some of these sites lately. 

ITS ALL GETTING TO BE SO RIDICULOUS! JUST BE NICE TO EACH OTHER AND STOP BEING SO DAMN CRITICAL OF EVERYTHING! 

Rant over. Sorry if you feel like I’ve wasted your time but I feel better getting all of that off my chest. 

10 thoughts on “In Defense of Literature 

  1. I’m really glad you posted this! I’ve been feeling so fed up with the “community” lately because it doesn’t even feel like one anymore lately. Like you said, way too much negativity in a world already full of negativity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you said that because after I posted this I felt like people would take it the wrong way. I post my reviews for fun and I read for fun, I didn’t know this was supposed to be something taken super seriously!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly!! I feel the same way. It’s getting to the point now where I’m worried about what books I post that I’m reading because of what others might say to me. It shouldn’t have to be that way. I understand that books can shape people in a way BUT unless an author wrote a book with the specific purpose of having a big effect on society, then I think people need to calm down and take the book for what it is… entertainment.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Especially with all these fantasy books lately! Last I check, SJM writes her books to entertain people and not to stand on a platform and make a statement. I’ve been seeing so many people bash her books and I almost feel ashamed of the fact that I love them. I love her characters and the way she writes them and you know what, I don’t give a rats ass that they’re gorgeous and strong and get laid by hot guys because with everything else they do in the books they probably deserve the hot guy lol I just read to be entertained, the reviewing is just something I find fun.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to write a reasonably negative review on a book that I received for a review and even though I didn’t give it a particularly good rating, the author responded to my email about it saying that it had made him feel better than some of the 3 or 4 star ratings he had received and that “some people almost review as if their main goal is to be mean”. It’s always about finding a balance!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I’ve been noticing lately. I have no problem with negative reviews but I feel like people go out of their way to be mean. I always make sure I’m giving reasonable explanations for why I don’t like something because I don’t want to make others feel bad for liking it and if it ever gets back to the author I don’t want them thinking I was bashing something they’re proud of. It’s definitely about finding a balance! You can write a bad review without coming across as being mean.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

