Golden Son by Pierce Brown 

Golden Son (Red Rising #2) by Pierce Brown; 442 pages

Warning: May contain spoilers! 

I don’t recommend reading this review if you haven’t read book one! 

Summary: 

It has been a year since Darrow accepted a place in House Augustus. And now his place in the house hangs by a thread. The only way for him to protect his place, protect the rebellion, is to take down House Bellona, the Augustus’s enemies. 

My thoughts:

I had no clue what to write in my summary that wouldn’t give anything away which is why it totally sucks! Sorry! 

But I thought this book was a major improvement over the first book which started out super slow. This book was the exact opposite, it started off with lots of action and never slowed down for 442 pages! This book was filled with action and adventure, war and love, betrayals and backstabbings. I loved all the character building in this book too. It will be interesting to see what happens in the next book. And the ending! Holy cow I didn’t see it coming! 

I love this world that Pierce Brown has created. It’s so unique and so violent and I love it! So many of these created worlds are so tame and his world is so wild. It’s so awesome that it takes place in space too! I also love how action packed these books are! Some might think it’s too much but I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with so much continuous action! 

I’m really excited to read the final book in the series and see how it all ends! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: 37/105

Books in the Wild:A book your mother would hate

Pop Sugar Challenge: A book with a family member term in the title

Next review: Private LA by James Patterson 

4 thoughts on “Golden Son by Pierce Brown 

  1. I just finished this one! I’ll probably review it in the next week or so as well. I totally agree about Red Rising starting slow and getting good while this one started fantastic and stayed fantastic all the way through.

    Another reason I liked Golden Son better than Red Rising is that a lot of elements of Red Rising could be compared to very similar elements in other sci-fi/dystopian series, whereas Golden Son seemed to take on a life of its own and a more unique plot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

