Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter 

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter; 404 pages

Summary: 

All Ali wants is to be a normal teenager. But that can never happen because her father is a drunk who thinks his he sees monsters. His family isn’t allowed outside at night and they never go near cemeteries. One night all that changes and that is the night Ali loses her family in a car crash. But that’s not all, that night she sees something that will forever change the way she sees the world …. she sees her first zombie. 

My thoughts: 

First, this is totally not what I expected this book to be about. I was expecting our main character to be a slightly clueless character named Alice who takes a tumble down the rabbit hole into a zombie infested Wonderland. Then I expected her to be recruited and trained to fight the zombies. 

Sounds logical based on the title, right? Wrong! I wasn’t even close to being right. 

Second, I enjoyed this book way more than I expected to once I actually started reading it. Yeah, it ended up being totally different than I expected but I couldn’t help but like it. The take on zombies was totally unique and so good! The characters were fantastic! Normally I’m not a fan of female, high school attending protags but Ali was great! She was such a badass and you see such a change in her as the book goes on. And Kat and Ali are friendship goals. I loved their banter! Cole wasn’t bad but I thought the whole “good bad boy” persona was a bit overdone with him. 

Third, I’m mad at myself for not reading this sooner! I can’t wait to read book 2! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: 39/105

Pop Sugar Challenge: A book that’s been on your TBR for way too long (2 years)

Next review: The Crown by Kiera Cass

4 thoughts on “Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter 

  1. Honestly I never thought to give this book a chance. I am not into zombies and I never hear anyone review it so I just kind of pass it by. I’m glad it took you by surprised and it has made me reconsider giving it a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting it to be but I really enjoyed it! I think when I picked it up I read 100+ pages that first night because I was so curious to see where it was going to go. I was never into zombies either until I started watching The Walking Dead and I still really am not that into them, but the zombies in this book are just so different than what you normally come across and it was really cool.

      Like

Leave a Reply

