The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon 

The Fiery Cross (Outlander Book 5) by Diana Gabaldon; kindle edition 980 pages (the paperback is 1200+ pages)

Potential spoilers ahead, but how do you really spoil 800+ page books …

Summary:

Jamie and Claire have created a cozy little settlement in the back country of North Carolina. But the year is 1771 and, unfortunately, war is coming to the colonies. With dissent brewing Jamie and Claire are preparing Fraser’s Ridge and the people living there for the call to arms to come. 

My thoughts: 

I cannot even begin to tell you how happy I am to finally have finished this book. It took me forever to read, literally 9 months I’ve been working on it. I start it back in October of 2016 and got about 24% of the way through it over the span of about 6 weeks. I had to put it down though because I really wanted to read other stuff at the end of the year. So I finally went back and picked it up in April and it took me from April to June to read the last 76% of the book. 

This book definitely started out a lot slower than some of the past books. The beginning focused more of their life in the back country of the Carolinas than anything. It was interesting but not much happened. The most exciting thing that happened in the first 400 pages was the militia gathering  and then it disbanded in a few chapters. It did pick up towards the halfway point though, when you get to Jocasta’s wedding. There’s nothing better than a wedding, some murder, and an attempted robbery to stir things up a bit. 

After that the story finally got rolling for the next 200 pages. I don’t know what it is but everything that happens at Fraser’s Ridge has been so boring. But once they leave everything gets so much more exciting. Unfortunately the first half of the book takes place at Fraser’s Ridge and it’s not until Jocasta’s wedding that they finally leave for an extended period of time. Then we finally do get some action with the militia, it was brief but some much needed action in the book. 

I did enjoy the ending of the book, it was good to hear from Ian again. And I am curious about the next book now but it’s going to have to wait until the fall because I need to get to reading some of my other books first! 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

Goodreads Challenge: 47/105

Pop Sugar Challenge: A book that’s more than 800 pages

Next review: 12 Point Collective

Leave a Reply

